Jaipur tablecloth dress!

IMG_6304

Our family go to the amazing Womadelaide festival every year. I usually pick up a few interesting pieces of clothing at the market stalls there. Last year I picked up two of these beautiful Jaipur tablecloths and bought them with the intention of making a dress out of them. The fabric appears to be wood block printed by hand, and has a border print.

IMG_1310

IMG_1311

So in December I finally got around to making a dress out of it. Enter Burda 7547. This is a young, plus pattern. I love that Burda releases plus size patterns in younger, trendier styles! And this pattern is a perfect sundress pattern – you can wear a normal bra and have the straps completely concealed, and the body skimming fit quite flattering.

I traced the bodice in a size 42, the smallest available, and did a big FBA, sewed the side dart and lengthened the whole bodice.

IMG_1307

This resulted in a dress with quite high armholes which conceals those little fleshy bits under your arms, but does feel a little constricting to wear. I traced my hip size in the skirt section, but then ended up taking in both side seams considerably. I think I did not leave quite enough ease at the hip, it sticks a bit, but I think I just need to get over my preciousness about that. I am also not used to wearing straight skirts. If I made it again I think I’d deepen the back darts and let out the side seams from the hip down.

IMG_6299

The front and back deep V necklines are my favourite part of the dress. The front is low, but not unwearably so.

IMG_6303

The pattern instructs only the bodice to be lined, but I lined the whole dress. The lining hangs free on one side, and is caught in the side seam on the side with the invisible zip, as that was much easier.

IMG_1381

IMG_1382

You can see that the hem drops a little at the sides due to my use of the border print.

The gathered shoulder is a nice feature and I finished it according to the instructions.

IMG_1384

IMG_1383

I was a bit unsure about this dress when I first made it. A relatively fitted, straight dress is not something I’ve worn before, and the print is quite out there. However a close friend gave me some very positive feedback on it yesterday, so I think I will wear it. I shall certainly give it an outing at Womad itself when we go in March!

8 thoughts on “Jaipur tablecloth dress!

  1. This is so lovely! Don’t be shy about wearing it out in public, I think it looks great! I really, really love the deep v in the front and back and how you lined up the print on the bodice.

  2. Very clever work with the pattern matching! And I love your choice to line it in blue – I would have used white, and probably robbed the colours of their intensity?

  3. I love it – what a wonderful way to ultilise such gorgeous fabric. I think that you’re amazing to be able to do so. I have sari fabric that I keep with the intention of getting a skirt made out of it (‘cos really, I just don’t have that many sari-wearing opportunities!)…one day!
    I love the neckline, love that it plunges back and front but without being too revealing. You should wear that one LOTS!!!

Leave a Reply

