StyleArc Twisting Tilly Top

Knit twist tops seemed to be a fad that I missed. Apparently the twist zeitgeist passed by some time ago, so now is probably a good time for me to get on the wagon in my usual extremely late adopter fashion.

I like this StyleArc pattern for a number of reasons. I love that unlike all other twist front top patterns that I’ve seen, the front has three sections rather than two. This gives a better fit over the bust I think.  The fit and body length is really very good straight out of the envelope. It fits just like the size 16 RTW tops I have. I obviously have to wear another top under this, but I expect that of any twist top. I also really like the double layer upper top means that there is no ugly seam finish on the neckline, just a nice clean folded edge.

This green version is the second time I’ve made this pattern up. The fabric is a thin wool rib knit that I bought from Rathdowne Fabrics a few years ago. I had planned to make an Ottobre jumper, but then I had another Ottobre wadder and the project got shelved. This pattern works well as an outer layer even though the recommended fabric is jersey. I added length to the sleeve and hem, and cut very slightly wider side seams. The ease and fit is very nice – semi-fitted but not encasing. The twin needle hems are not fabulous but I can live with them. I am yet to find a knit hem finish that I am really happy with.

If I made this again, I think I’d lower that front empire seam a bit. I also managed to stretch out the back neckline as I applied the binding which widens the shoulders. I should have stabilised that back neckline first.

Here is the pattern made up in cotton-lycra jersey.

I made no changes except lengthening the sleeves and the fit is very close. Definitely not a top for blobbing around in.

The hem finish on this one is just a single row of straight stitching.

Overall I’m very happy with both of these!

Leave a Reply

