Fifth Birthday Dress

So every year I make my daughter a birthday dress.

In fact, making her a dress for her first birthday was what motivated me to take up sewing, after making a few random skirts in my teens and twenties. Here is the little pinnie when she was just one.

I usually make her a cotton party dress which she wears with some layers underneath in September and then wears for Christmas as well. This year I was going through my Ottobre magazines and Althea and I together picked the Carrot Muffin tunic from 4/2011-28. I also made the More Grey raglan t-shirt from the same issue 4/2011-25, and the Hopsis leggings from 4/2012-15.

 

Althea chose the main fabric which is a Hilco sweater-knit “Elisabet” in chocolate, the pink and red stripe knit is Farbenmix Gitta and the pink is Farbenmix Gitte. I bought them all from Crafty Mamas which as usual has gorgeous fabrics, which for me, make this kind of sewing fun and worthwhile. The red/orange ribbing was from the same place. You can see how nice and soft the inside of the brown sweater knit is.

 

And they are all mostly cotton, which means that they will be comfortable to wear.

All of these patterns were very straightforward. I lengthened the tunic to a dress and used the double layer cuff for the legging without the gathering band. I used ribbing for the pocket and neck trim on the dress instead of the contrast plain sweater knit. Seriously – four coodinating knits! I thought three was doing pretty well!    I did have trouble gathering with clear elastic as instructed and ended up gathering with long stitches as per normal.

Althea measures pretty much exactly a size 122 in height and chest circumference but I made the dress and T-shirt in a 128 so she would have growing room. This was obviously unnecessary and I was a bit disappointed in that baggy fit. I now know not to do that in Ottobre. The leggings I made a 122 and they are a bit snug because the jersey knit does not have really great stretch and recovery. The fabric is apparently 5% elastomeric, but really it was not a good choice for leggings. In fact the waist stitching has already popped despite stretch as you sew and a very narrow zig-zag. Oh well.

 

Overall I’m pretty happy with this birthday outfit. Nice fabrics really are a pleasure to sew, and having it appreciated by the recipient is even better. Happy birthday gorgeous girl!

 

4 thoughts on “Fifth Birthday Dress

  1. She looks gorgeous! Do you think she can still get some wear out of the leggings?

    I love sewing for A – it’s such a shame there aren’t so many good boys’ patterns. I need to conquer my fear of the overlocker so I can start making him T-shirts.

  2. I think she’ll get a few months out of the leggings, which is not so bad really. Ottobre really has the nicest boys patterns in my opinion, I also like Burda and Farbenmix. I have to admit the I find boys fabric and patterns pretty boring most of the time. Conquering the overlocker is so worth it – the speed is very satisfying!

  3. Pingback: My first lined jacket, speedy girl dress and conquering the blind hem foot | accidentlykellystreet

Leave a Reply

