Introducing Something Silver

I really started knitting because I wanted gorgeous hand knitted jumpers for myself. I had picked up a few op shop gems over the years, and I do have some quite nice commercial wool jumpers, but really what I wanted was a lovely snuggly hand knitted cardigan.The second project I ever knit was a large ladies cardigan. This was ambitious, but I was motivated. I didn’t want to stuff around with scarves, I wanted a cardigan. No one else was going to knit me one, I would make it myself.

IMG_2065

Needless to say the cardigan in question is itchy and hot and I hardly ever wear it. Knitting a cardigan in my size is also a massive, massive undertaking. Yet it seems that I can’t stop doing it.

IMG_2059

This pattern is Something Silver by Veera Valimaki. I was particulary inspired by Ganeshas green version, and I intend to add buttons all the way down the front as she has done.

IMG_2061

I bought the yarn at the Bendigo Wool and Sheep show. It was branded as 100% Merino, but have been told that it was actually Pear Tree Yarn who were having production issues and were selling off their stock. I got this 1kg (!!!) bag of beautiful light green 8ply and another 1kg bag of silvery mauve 10ply for $50, which is the most amazing value for beautiful Australian merino yarn. It was seconds and you can tell that they were having production problems with this yarn.

IMG_2054

There are quite a few sections of loose fluffy yarn spiralling into the tighter plied sections. The width of the yarn is also quite uneven. I am not bothered by this as I think it gives a rustic look and I knew it was seconds when I bought it, but if I had paid full price for the yarn I would definitely be upset. As it is I am enjoying working with such lovely soft merino wool. I do suspect that it will pill like crazy though.

I cast on this cardigan on the 31st of October but gave it a bit of a rest during the hot weather. It has cooled down lately (apart from single hot days just to remind us that it really is still summer) and this project has back out of hibernation. It makes really good TV knitting – that lace chart is very simple, and now even easier that I’ve starting using a post-it note to mark my place. Such a simple idea, but so helpful!

IMG_2068

This cardigan is knit seamlessly from the top down. I have learnt my lesson, after a heart breakingly too short cardigan, and now know the value of being able to try on a garment as you knit. My only fitting worry is the sleeves as they will have zero ease at the bicep if I knit without modification. Hmm. Not quite sure what I’ll do there.

I only have two rows left before I divide off the body and sleeves which is a very satisfying milestone. I have a positive feeling about this cardigan. I hope it turns out to be this winter’s favourite.

IMG_2057

6 thoughts on “Introducing Something Silver

  1. I am always so impressed with how quickly you finish off some massive projects! This will be another lovely one and I’m sure you’ll be done in no time as the year gets into a routine!

  2. Go up a needle size on the sleeves – it will give a little extra room without having to re-jig the numbers – and the difference in gauge shouldn’t be noticeable.

    I really should start knitting for myself again… I’ve just cast on something more for E, the smallest in the family (at sz8!).

  3. I think it’s mandatory that your first sweater be hot and itchy – at least mine was. I can’t bear to rip it or get rid of it, though, funny old thing that it is.

    That pattern is gorgeous. I think I have almost every Veera Valimaki pattern in my Rav favourites.

  4. Pingback: bits and bobs | accidentlykellystreet

Leave a Reply

