Fabric and pattern plans

So my husband has just left for nearly two weeks in the US. This is going to be happening four or five times a year now. To make up for the very hard work of solo parenting, I decided to have some patterns and fabrics delivered to him while in the US, thus saving me the exorbitant shipping costs that most US sites charge.

These are the three Vogue patterns I chose: 1333,

Screen Shot 2013-03-16 at 3.59.00 PM

Screen Shot 2013-03-16 at 4.02.35 PM

1334

Screen Shot 2013-03-16 at 4.02.16 PM

Screen Shot 2013-03-16 at 4.02.28 PM

and 1312.

Screen Shot 2013-03-16 at 3.59.09 PM

Screen Shot 2013-03-16 at 4.02.41 PM

I also ordered some fabric from fabricmartfabrics. I actually ordered exactly the fabric that I would need to make up these three patterns. They all use quite a bit of fabric, especially the dress and skirt. I didn’t realise that this store only ship to US and Canada, but I nearly had a heart attack when they also only accepted US and Canadian credit cards. We managed to get around it using paypal and using the hotel address, which is where it will be delivered. I SO hope that it arrives at the hotel in time. There was no shipping timeframes on the website so the whole thing is a bit of a gamble I guess. But US online fabric prices are SO GOOD and there is so much choice! Well, wait and see.

So what do you think of my pattern choices?? Have I just bought patterns 20 years too old for me?

5 thoughts on “Fabric and pattern plans

  1. I like all of those patterns too – so if you like patterns 20 years too old for you, so do I! I especially like the skirt in Vogue 1333, and have been eyeing off that dress for quite a while. I am looking forward to seeing your fabrics – and the finished items!

  2. Nice, and I think they will suit you very well. I especially like the green top in the second one – I think that will be very flattering! I look forward to posts on their creation… at some point. All the best with the single parenting, I know it’s hard work.

  3. I think it would totally depend on the fabrics you use and how you wear the finished clothes. They’re all patterns wide open to interpretation which means lots of fun and creativity involved. And coz of that you might just BE still wearing them in 20 yrs time, with fabrics that suit you then!
    (I’ve been following your blog for a while 🙂 Hello!)

  4. Pingback: A tale of two wadders | accidentlykellystreet

Leave a Reply

