An easy win

Sometimes you need an easy sewing win – and that’s what these little wide wale cord pants for Julian were.

IMG_2802

IMG_2804

IMG_2784

The pattern is from Ottobre 6/2012 pattern 5 Veijari pants. It comes in sizes 62-98. I made the 98 for Julian – he’s wearing a RTW size 3 and is 22 months old. I estimated Julian’s height with a tape measure to be about 96cm and the pants are fairly roomy and a bit long. They are a bit silly with no shoes on, but I probably won’t take them up. I get so sick of things getting too small so quickly that my kids end up in oversized clothes quite often.

IMG_2807

IMG_2808

The pattern has all this cool, but time consuming detail, which you can see from the shots above that I elimated – knee darts, mock fly, back yoke, front pockets and fancy back pockets. I kept the yoke for the red pair and squeezed some back patch pockets out of the fabric for the blue pair.

IMG_2810

This is how I add seam allowances with these patterns – using a seam allowance guide – so much easier than any other method I’ve tried.

IMG_2860

I did the elastic waistband using my favourite no-casing method, documented here.

IMG_2862

Back pockets!

I love my little toddler in some snuggly winter pants and God knows I needed a sewing win!

Leave a Reply

