Monkey dress

I hope no one’s reading my blog hoping for couture sewing methods and high fashion. Because what I have for you is a monkey dress!

IMG_3293

IMG_3294

The pattern is Simplicity 3572 which is now out of print. The pattern contains lots of dolls clothes in three sizes for both knits and wovens. This dress should have been made in a woven, but ages ago when I decided to make this dress as an Althea-and -me project I let Althea choose the fabric and she chose this stretchy interlock. It made making this much more annoying than it should have been.

I actually had some unexpected time alone with Althea today, so dredged the cut out pieces and finished this off. Althea sewed on the machine on some scraps and did some pinning but basically I whipped this up while she mooched around and waited.

This is not my finest work, but really it is perfectly fine for a stuffed monkey. She wants me to sew the straps down like on the pattern illustration through (never misses a trick that one!) rather than my quick and easy halter.

IMG_3289

She’s happy!

Leave a Reply

