Stjärna for Christmas

Merry Christmas lovely readers! I hope that you all had a lovely, relaxing family time. I have just returned home after nearly three weeks away – a long drive, an overseas trip, a family holiday in Adelaide and the long drive back. I had a great time but I am very glad to be back home (a home full of suitcases, overgrown garden and dirty washing, but home none the less).

IMG_4137

In early December I finally felt inspired to knit again and decided on these star-shaped tree decorations that I had been in my Ravelry queue for a while. The pattern is Stjärna by Karolina Eckerdal and it’s a free Ravelry download. I knit it in Bendigo Woollen Mills Luxury 8ply which I happened to have, but I did have to make a special trip into Morris and Sons in my lunch break for a set of six 3.0mm double pointed needles.

IMG_4126 IMG_4127

This pattern was pretty fiddly, I have to say, and it’s knit with 8ply yarn on 3.0mm needles with a firm tension so it was not the most relaxing knit either. You start with a provisional cast on in the round, move to five DPNs and knit in towards the centre until 10 stitches remain and then tie them together. This was the bit where I hit a snag, as I finished the first side when I was at a play centre with my son (a great place to take an active toddler on a rainy day) but didn’t have a needle to tie the stitches off. On the way home one DPN fell out of the work and I was unable to successfully pick up the dropped stitches, or bind off tightly enough to there is a slightly unsightly hole on that first side.

IMG_4128 IMG_4129

You then pick up stitches around the long edge (that was fiddly) and knit the second side, stuff the star and then knit the final row and bind off (super fiddly).

IMG_4134 IMG_4135

Here you can see the gappy first side and the better second side of the star. Despite this small error I was really happy with this little tree decoration and it’s certainly a fun, quick project. In fact, I made a second star that I gave as a gift to my lovely mother-in-law and the second one turned out even better than the first – but sadly I didn’t get any pictures of it!

IMG_4133

The tree that the star is hanging on is my Wollemi pine which I did use as a Christmas tree when it was in a pot, but it’s now a 2.5m tree planted in the garden.

After my successful Stjärna I have been reinspired to knit and have cast on Nymphalidea by Melinda VerMeer, a loosely knit shawl which I am planning to wear as a scarf.

IMG_4278

The gradient yarn is very motivating – I keep on knitting just one more wedge so that I see the next colour emerge.

On a totally unrelated yarny note, check out this cool yarn bombing we found in Ararat as we were driving through yesterday.

IMG_4270

The text reads “Women’s work but is it art?”

I hope that you are all having a lovely summer/winter break.

Leave a Reply

