Rainbow hats!

Well I’ve finally succumbed to the matching thing and have made my children coordinating rainbow hats!

IMG_4847

The pattern is Luuk by Annis Jones the Woolen Horse, and the yarn is Knit Picks Chroma Worsted in the colourway Prism. I was basically inspired by a Ravelry project I found (here) and copied gluecksfisch’s pattern and yarn combination.

IMG_4845

The smallest hat is the 0-3 month size with the smaller bobble- it looks absolutely tiny! I made Julian (2.5 years, 51cm head) the Child 20″ size and it’s a very snug fit.

IMG_4733

(Two year olds – not the keenest photo models).

For Althea (6.5 years, 54.5cm head) I made the Adult 22″ size and the fit is pretty good. I did the big bobbles on both of the larger hats. Bobbles seem little crazy but I think they really make this style!

IMG_4807 IMG_4809

(She would only model the hat if she got to show off her sticker art – cooperative kiddies aren’t they?)

The pattern was great – the alternating ridges really show off the gradient rainbow colours and it’s a bit more interesting than just a plain hat. This pattern has ‘purl front and back’ which was a new stitch for me and is darn fiddly.

IMG_4812

I’m really pleased with these hats and am planning to make one more in the 6-12 month size as I expect that the tiny hat will fit for about two weeks and may not even get worn as, well, a worsted weight woollen hat is not really what a March/April baby in a temperate climate is really going to need. I wasn’t quite able to cast on four practically identical hats in a row though – I’m attempting to cast on (third attempt now) a hat for me, and after that I’ll be back to fuzzy rainbow goodness!

3 thoughts on “Rainbow hats!

  1. I just want to say, that when I picked the Luuk pattern to make hats for you and Tessa I didn’t realise you had already done so. Something about great minds thinking alike. Its a fun pattern to knit.

      • J was wearing his at the zoo and it looked adorable. I did the 1-3month baby size. I have have enough of the yarn left to make a six month size, but was thinking of fingerless gloves instead.

        I may need to go buy rainbow stripy wool, but am trying to cold sheep until next Bendigo sheep and wool show.

Leave a Reply

