Stretch jeans, camisole tops and moving to Seattle!

What does the post-partum woman need? Stretch jeans that fit! I whipped up these super quick stretch denim pants (are they jeans without a fly or yoke? I can’t quite commit to the idea) using the StyleArc Linda stretch pant pattern that I knew already fit (picture is here and pattern review is here).. I had a denim-coloured stretch bengaline pair that I wore to death after Julian was born, so another pair after Tessa’s birth seemed like a good idea. This time I widened the leg, as I much prefer wide legs to skinny (anti-fashion, I know!), raised the back waist and lengthened the hem. I added two rectangular patch pockets to the back, which are useful, and serve to break up the back view.

20140608-155942-57582638.jpg

20140608-155941-57581894.jpg
I wear them pretty much every day so they must be a success! (Let’s not dwell on the fact that there are not too many other choices in the closet right now). The denim is reasonably thick but has a good amount of stretch. Annoying it gets baggy after the first day of wear, but the pants are quite tight on the first day, so I wouldn’t take them in. I did discover while running alongside my two year old on a flying fox that elastic stretch pants are not really made for running, not that I do much of that right now.

Another immediate need in my post partum wardrobe was some camisoles for breastfeeding. I find that a cami pulled down and a top pulled up gives the kind of coverage I prefer for feeding in public.

20140608-161010-58210983.jpg
I have found it impossible to find breastfeeding camis that do not have foam bra cups in them (annoying when wearing a real bra underneath), that are suitable for a larger cup size, with a nice long length, and cotton. The best thing I have are these City Chic camis which are cotton-Lycra jersey, great long length, and I can pull the neckline down under my bust to feed. Sadly they now only sell them in vile polyester so I figured I would try making my own. I traced the pattern from an existing cami and used Fold over elastic (FOE) for the binding and straps. This is my first time using FOE and it was easy to use – I applied it with a simple zig-zag stitch.

20140608-161124-58284564.jpg

20140608-161125-58285397.jpg
Unfortunately the first cami I made I cut out on the crosswise grain (I really am sleep deprived), and it’s too tight and the straps too short. The second one is a bit tight too, especially in this beefy jersey. I used 2 yards of FOE on each one, which was the full length I had. These are useful but I think I still need to make a few more tweaks until I have exactly the cami I want.

20140608-161457-58497855.jpg

Big news! Our family of five is relocating to a Seattle! Yup, just half a globe away from where we currently live in lovely Melbourne. The process of moving is taking up all my time and energy that isn’t being used on my tiny baby and two older kids, so this blog will probably have big gaps between posts for a while.

I’m not taking my sewing machine or overlocker, I’m not willing to risk them on 60Hz 110V power. My sister will have them. The sewing machine was my Mums so I have no more claim to it than my sisters. I have spent a lot servicing it over the years and am very sentimentally attached to my awesome Elna TSP. It’s a fabulous machine, but I had been thinking of upgrading, so now I’m being forced to. I’ve been thinking for a few years about what to get but am still undecided. Modern computerized machines are very different to what I’m used to.

Still, I’m very excited about the chance to buy a new sewing machine and about moving to Seattle in general. I hope that I will be able to connect in to the local sewing and knitting communities. The only Seattle sewing blogger I know of so far is Michelle of happilycaffienated. Anyone know of any other Seattle sewing or knitting bloggers, or sewing meet ups, retreats etc the happen in the area? I’d love to know!

P.S. I made this entire blog post on my phone – what a technical feat!

P.P.S. Here is Tessa in the outfit I made her before she was born.

20140608-162702-59222722.jpg

4 thoughts on “Stretch jeans, camisole tops and moving to Seattle!

  1. You’re moving to SEATTLE? That’s quite a change. Good luck with the move, and with settling in. I’m sure you’ll find a lovely sewing community, and having small kids is always the best way to meet people and make new friends.

  2. Welcome to the USA! We’re proud and happy to have you, especially your adorable children. I read that you know about fabric.com, and I also use them, but please check out FabricMart as well, I get a ton of fabric from them. Now that you are going to be on this continent, the online shopping is not so expensive!

Leave a Reply

