New beginnings

So here we all are in the US of A, in lovely Seattle which is turning on a pretty nice summer for us. It’s been very pleasant going from winter to summer and a summer that tops out at 28 degrees C is much more my style than one that tops out at 43.

20140726-103901-38341205.jpg
There has been some truly stressful, horrible moments, missing our connection at LAX was a big one, and some truly blissful ones, most of which involve lake swimming and spray parks (why do we not have more of these in Australia?).

20140726-105023-39023347.jpg

20140726-114723-42443023.jpg
Needless to say, the amount of ‘me time’ I have had in the last few months has been almost zero, and I can’t see that letting up for a good while yet. Though I have had a few hours of big kid free time the last two weekends which has really done wonders for my state of mind. In fact I’m having that time now! I just can’t blog or knit when trying to meet the needs of three kids – one baby, well the blogging seems to be possible.

20140726-103255-37975879.jpg
I started this little cotton cardigan for Tessa before we left and I would very much like to finish it before summer is over. She’s growing so fast and it would be such a pity for her to outgrow it before she can wear it! The pattern is Mini Chic by Katie White. I erroneously purchased this pattern twice, so am doing a little giveaway. If you would like a copy of this pattern please leave a comment on this blog. I’ll pick a comment by random number generator on Tuesday night, Seattle time. Good luck!

4 thoughts on “New beginnings

  1. What a big move for all of you! Great that you’re settling in and finding some quiet(er) time 🙂 I’m always impressed by parents of 3, but parents who manage to cross the world and then help 3 small people settle in are even more impressive. Seattle sounds lovely, another place on my list of places to eventually get to.
    Would love to be added to the list for your little cardie pattern as well.
    All the best!
    Bec

  2. Claire, very glad to see that you have safely arrived! Jealous of your summer, though high 20s is not warm enough for summer for me. But you know me, I love the hottest days in Melbourne, sitting on the balcony off the red kitchen! Please don’t include this as an entry to your giveaway.

  3. Am loving all the updates here and on Facebook, and so wonderful to see the whole family smiling! What an amazing experience!
    (I’m sure its stressful at times, but I love that you are focussed on the positives!)
    Much love from chilly Melbourne. xox

Leave a Reply

