Grey denim skirt

So here’s the first thing I made on my new machine – a grey denim skirt using the OOP Kwik Sew 3362.

IMG_7327

image1

This is the fourth time I’ve made this pattern. I made it in purple corduroy as one of my first sewing projects back in 2008 (photo here). I made a full length version in dark red ponte (pictured at the bottom of this post), and a I made a blue denim version that I later maternity-ized with a stretch waistband. I was still wearing that version a month ago, and I wore the red one recently too.

This time I graded the pattern to an XXL, added back waist darts, reshaped the side seams considerably and used an invisible zipper. I also had to shorten the skirt a fair bit which is pretty unusual for me as I’m 5’10”. I top stitched all the panel seams too.

IMG_7319

The invisible zipper foot on my new machine is quite different to what I’ve used before so I had quite a bit of trouble with it. I sewed it too close for the zipper to close and unpicked it several times. Now it’s too wide, but in the interest of gaining a wearable skirt sooner, I left it.

image1

 

You can see that the back waist facing is rolling up already which is a pain, and not something I’ve ever managed to solve.

image2

I think I’m done with this pattern. I wear the skirt all the time, but I’m not in love with the way the grading made the curved panels come so far down onto the thigh. I think I would have been better just to cut wider side seams so I could do the dart/shaping that I needed to.

Overall this is a very useful wardrobe basic that I was desperately in need of. Sewing time is incredibly precious and rare these days – this skirt took me weeks of 20 minutes here and there. However on I go. I have a floral maxi skirt in progress…. I think it’s destined to be worn with leggings the way the weathers going. Oh well!

 

Leave a Reply

