Rayon challis and shirring

So I’m a bit obsessed with both rayon challis and shirring at the moment. Rayon challis is just the most lovely, draped summer fabric, and I’m beginning to think that shirring might be the answer to my woven bodice and stiff waistband issues. I started with experimenting with shirring and ended up making Tessa a pattern-free shirred dress!

IMG_2248IMG_2250

I modelled the size of a RTW dress that fit her and added some straps – super easy and I think it turned out pretty cute.

IMG_2175

IMG_2173

IMG_2177

She’s really running, climbing and exploring so dresses are a bit more practical now she’s off her knees nearly all of the time. I preached the fabric but the dress has shrunk up lengthwise since I made it – rayon challis does have a habit of doing this.

IMG_2190IMG_2188

I’ve got more challis in the works – I think all the girls will be wearing lots of it this summer.

IMG_2186

Leave a Reply

