Quilted hexie pouch

Here’s my first quilted project! It’s a small pouch made with my 1″ english paper pieced hexagons.

IMG_2896

The pattern is from Quilting on the Go by Jessica Alexandrakis.

IMG_2898

I spray basted the hexie top to the low loft polyester batting and backing fabric. I then quilted using a straight line pattern using my walking foot on my machine.

IMG_2890

I bound the edges using prepackaged double fold bias binding, machine sewn on one side and invisibly hand sewn on the other. It has a velcro closure.

IMG_2893

Once the hexies were done putting the pouch together did not take very long. I’m pretty happy with it!

IMG_2891

I have been reading various quilting books from the library and have found most of them, well, boring and not to my taste. I’ve finally found a quilting book that is intelligent, absorbing and inspiring. It has lots of interviews and gives a history of modern quilting. It is Quilting with a Modern Slant by Rachel May. I’d highly recommend seeing if your library has it.

2 thoughts on “Quilted hexie pouch

Leave a Reply

