Rayon floral dress and simple skirts

I’m not loving sewing clothes for myself right now, but as this blog is my creative journal I’m going to put this out there. Here’s McCalls 6073. I don’t like it very much.

IMG_2431 IMG_2440

The top is a very stretchy rayon knit, and the skirt is a rayon challis. There is elastic in the midriff which is really needed, as the skirt pulls it down. I made a size 20 top grading to a 22 at the waist and a 24 skirt with 2″ extra length. I might add that my measurements are close to a 24 in the bust and it’s still too big, good old Big 4 sizing….

IMG_2365IMG_2364

The thin knit is a bit of a PITA to get a nice finish on, to be frank.

IMG_2356IMG_2362

IMG_2360IMG_2354

I actually shortened this dress to knee length and then reused the fabric to make a simple no-pattern pull on skirt.

IMG_2869 IMG_2870

The waistband is a much stronger and more stable cotton-lycra knit. I don’t make it quite tight enough but I still wear this skirt all the time.

I also made a simple shirred waist light denim skirt that I also wear multiple times a week.

IMG_3110

The four year old photographer cut off my head, sorry folks.

IMG_2860 IMG_2862

IMG_2861 IMG_2864

It is also a bit loose in the waist but I couldn’t make it any narrower and still be able to walk without restriction. The shirring was time consuming but it’s very comfortable.

IMG_2867

Which just goes to show that quick and easy is sometimes better than ambitious when it comes to sewing.

One thought on “Rayon floral dress and simple skirts

  1. Can’t believe how good your neckline bindings are! Such a tricky and highly visible part of any top. Also, love the colours you’re working with!

Leave a Reply

