Flared denim skirt – McCall’s 5431

IMG_6707

So I’ve managed to sew a wearable skirt! It’s a bit of a win, it’s been so long since I had a success. The pattern is McCall’s 5431 which I bought in a pattern sale a few years ago. It’s now out of print. This is a really flared skirt.

IMG_6646

I picked the pattern because I find yoked waists quite comfortable to wear and the pockets seemed quirkily cute.

IMG_6644

IMG_6648

They really are giant, but secure enough for my phone.

The fabric is a mid weight, reasonably drapy non-stretch denim from my stash.

IMG_6686

The pattern sizing is a bit annoying. I graded the pattern up three sizes from a 20 to a 26 which should have had a 40″ waist according to the pattern sizes. I was aiming for a 43″ waist and had to take out the zipper and remove 2″ from the centre back. It’s still a bit big and I do really need to wear a belt to keep it up. And I measured the pattern pieces and everything!

IMG_6681

I initially made the view D in the longer length but the mid-calf length plus the volume was pretty dowdy, so I hemmed it back to knee length and used package bis binding for the hem facing.

IMG_6700

This is not, dare I say it, the most flattering skirt shape in the world, but it’s comfortable and practical and get the feeling that I might end up wearing this skirt quite a lot. It also looks good with the shorter length of my silky wool customfit jumper, so that’s a win too!

 

One thought on “Flared denim skirt – McCall’s 5431

  1. Aah, I have this pattern and I was just looking at it the other day thinking about a skirt! My impression from the drawings is its meant to sit down on the hips, so that might be part of why it runs so large—good to know to watch out for that. This looks like it’ll be a practical workhorse of a skirt, and the pockets are great. I’m so glad you had a success! 🙂

Leave a Reply

